April 9, 2007

How to Get Free Starbucks: The Response

Posted in Guilty Pleasures, Life, Random, The Pooch at 8:58 am by Faith

I was an avid reader of a certain DC blog until I was blocked from his site either because he thought 1) I was a spammer or 2) I was a stalker. In any case, I really enjoyed his blog and was bummed when I wasn’t able to get my fix.

One of my favorite posts of his dealt with how to get free coffee at Starbucks. It was one of those rare blogger posts that was obviously well-thought out, humorous, and totally plausible. Anyway, I recently frequented my neighborhood Starbucks and found myself in a similar situation. In my situation, however, I found that getting free coffee at Starbucks boiled down to three key elements:

1. Wear a low cut-top.
2. Take The Pooch through the Drive-Through
3. Flirt shamelessly with the Barista.


I met all three of these elements this weekend. I was wearing a low-cut top, had The Pooch in the car with me (who is a great conversation starter), and flirted shamelessly with the Barista. When I left, I had a Grande Caramel Frappucino, a low-fat muffin, and a doggie bone… none of which I paid for. I think if I had been able to stick around for much longer, The Pooch and I could have gotten away with a free book and a Starbucks compilation CD, too.

I’m sure there are going to be some people who are appalled that I would use my feminine charms in such a manner and claim that I’m setting the women’s liberation movement back 10 years. I understand such complaints, but please understand when I say, “I really don’t care.” Free stuff rules.

6 Comments »

  1. HMC said,

    OMG! That’s what I’ve been telling people for years! I horrify my feminist friends when I tell them about going to the mechanic wearing something low cut and leaning over the counter. I have gotten deeps discounts on tires, a free oil change, and further discounts on other services. I love using my feminine wiles for evil. =)

  2. I-66 said,

    Note to self: Become Starbucks barista.

  3. HMC said,

    Wasn’t the gist of the article to just claim that the drink was yours and walk off with it? I somehow feel that flirting your way to a free beverage is more honest.

  4. photobugchick said,

    I think it is great. It’s real and who cares how you get what you need (well, to an extent of course!). And who doesn’t love a free treat now and then….and for that matter-for always if you know how to work it sista!

  5. Free is free!

  6. swag -a- licious!!!
    xoxo


Leave a comment