April 26, 2007

The Good Samaritan

Posted in Friends, Hotties, Life at 8:09 am by Faith

For the most part, I like to think that I’m a good friend. If I’m able to help someone when they’re in a tight position, it makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something. I was enjoying a late lunch with Kitrah the other day when I received a phone call from Hip-Hop Mama. I didn’t think it was anything important, as I had JUST gotten off the phone with her before I went out with Kitrah, so I let her go to voice-mail. After another frantic phone call and a text, I astutely realized that something was up. She informed me that she had a flat tire and needed help getting her child from school.

So, I rushed down, feeling bad that I let her go to voice mail twice. We ran to the school and got her child before I took Hip-Hop Mama back to her car with the flat tire. I have many brothers. I know how to change a flat. So when I saw Hip-Hop Mama struggling with her spare tire, trying to do everything so she didn’t break a nail, I knew an intervention was necessary:

Faith: No, no. That’s NOT how you change a flat. Let me do it for you. (takes over from here– gets the spare tire out, gets the jack out, assembles the jack, begins to try and take off the lug nuts… and cannot get them off. They’ve been put on too tight. Continues struggling with the lug nuts.)
Man! They put these lug nuts on TIGHT anymore…

(Cute guy happens by, notices Faith struggling with the lug nuts and ambles over)

Cute guy: Hey, they put those on way too tight in garages. Let me get it for you. (proceeds to loosen the lug nuts, then jacked up Hip-Hop Mama’s car and changes the tire himself.)

Faith: (whispers to Hip-Hop Mama) Now THAT’S how you change a tire!

flat2.jpg

10 Comments »

  1. I-66 said,

    Let me think… My first flat tire was my Senior year of high school in the school parking lot (tried to dodge a speed bump and hit the curb, popped the tire)… Got one that summer running over a nail… The next one was a couple years later on another nail… Then last year I got one running over a screw (my first one on the current car, which has a full-sized spare thankfully).

    So yeah, I’m pretty experienced in the ways of tire changing. Not sure whether I should be proud of that.

  2. Jarod said,

    Heh. They put those lugnuts on tighter every year.
    ps – Kudos, Faith was much cooler than Buffy! (proud member of the scooby gang)

  3. oob said,

    NICE! Man, you gotta love it when that happens.

    btw, I am mid-Season Three of Entourage. Netflix: it’s a beautiful thing for the addicted! πŸ™‚

  4. battybeyond said,

    niiiice. didja get a fone number?

  5. Holler! I love the adventures with you and Hip Hop Mama. And you are such a great friend!

    Yeah, so what was his name? Did he have a cute name to match the face/body?! πŸ™‚

  6. Fool said,

    Will you come to D.C. and teach me how to change one?

  7. “Hip-Hop Mama struggling with her spare tire…

    (Faith) takes over from here–
    gets the spare tire out,
    gets the jack out,
    assembles the jack,
    begins to try and take off the lug nuts… “

    I am just curious as to what HipHop Mama was doing before you arrived.
    Was she trying to wrench the tyre off the rim or something?

  8. Faith said,

    I-66: You can change my flat anytime, baby… πŸ™‚
    Jarod: Iii KNOW! (To both the lug nuts and the Faith comment.)
    Oob: Entourage is a wonderful thing. So is Netflix. πŸ™‚
    BattyBeyond: No, no phone number. I have a crush on someone else. :p
    Photobugchick: Thank you! I try to be a good friend when I can. He was a cutie.. not my type, though. As I said, I’m crushing on someone else.
    Fool: Oh, I can show you how to change a flat.. πŸ™‚
    Little Indian: She was trying to get the spare out of the trunk without breaking a nail. For a low-maintenance gal like myself, it was painful to watch. Hence the intervention. πŸ™‚

  9. πŸ˜€

  10. I just luvvvv cute guys who can fix tires πŸ˜‰

    They get extra points on the sexy scale!


Leave a Reply

