May 8, 2007

Closure is a Mother: Part I

Posted in Karate Kid, Life, Love at 8:44 am by Faith

(NOTE FROM FAITH: I was going to save this post for much later, but I didn’t anticipate it being a two-parter so quickly. Part II should follow sometime today…)

Closure comes to us in really strange ways, I’ve found. For those of you just tuning in, I had a pretty bitter breakup with Karate Kid about six weeks before the inception of this blog. As readers, be glad that I spared you from such detail. In any case, I didn’t expect to get ANY sort of closure on my relationship with Karate Kid, but life has a way of surprising the heck out of you sometimes.

Case in point: I was walking with Kitrah the other day before class. It was getting late and we had mutually decided that we were in the market for some caffeine, hence a trip to the Student Store. As we were walking in the direction of the Student Store, I caught a glimpse of Karate Kid’s Mom, who I will (originally) name Lucille Larusso. Lucille and I had a pretty good relationship while I dated the Karate Kid, so it didn’t seem right of me to ignore her:

Faith: (calling out) Lu-cillle…..
Lucille: (spotting Faith and jumping out of her seat, running over to Faith) Oh, Faith! (embraces her) Let me take a look at you! You look great! You’re so tan… and you cut your hair! (pause)…did you lose some weight, too?
Faith: (laughing) Thanks. I’m doing pretty well.
Lucille: Well, yeah! You look great! (Hugs Faith again) God, sweetie. I’ve missed you!

The conversation continued for a few minutes and was very obviously pointed AWAY from the topic of Karate Kid and myself, something which was very much welcomed and appreciated. However, as the conversation progressed, the topic quickly turned to Karate Kid’s Child, who is apparently having quite a bit of trouble in school since my absence:

Lucille: (venting)… and Karate Kid is completely ignoring the issue!
Faith: No offense, but it sounds familiar.
Lucille: Oh, none taken, sweetie. I’m his mother. I *know* that Karate Kid is absolutely horrible at relationships. He has no idea to what a woman needs. (shooting Faith a pointed look)
Faith: (genuinely surprised and fighting back tears) THANK YOU for that.

I made a hasty exit shortly thereafter, citing class as my main reason, but it was because I didn’t want to break down and cry in front of Lucille. She’s been put in a bad situation already and I didn’t want to make it worse. It was amazing to me how she could level me to tears with just a few words, especially considering that I hadn’t really been upset over Karate Kid in quite a while. It was just nice to hear someone from *his* side of the camp admit that they knew I had tried my hardest in the relationship.

It wasn’t much, but it made me feel quite a bit betterl. Little did I know that the real doozy was yet to come…

TO BE CONCLUDED…

1 Comment »

  1. […] already mentioned how I experienced a chance encounter with Lucille Larusso that gave me a little bit of closure on the train wreck that was my relationship with Karate Kid. […]


Leave a Reply

