July 11, 2007

Moment of Silence

Posted in Family, Life at 3:18 pm by Faith

Today would have been my father’s 77th birthday. He’s been gone almost two years, and you’d think this would be getting easier. It’s not. Actually, I feel like it’s gotten harder. Part of it is because I’m stressed over the Bar Exam, but I think the bigger chunk of it is just that I miss my father more than I could possibly put into words. I wish that you guys could have met him. He was a trip and a half.

I know that I shouldn’t be sad because that’s not what my father would have wanted, but it’s not easy to just “tell” myself that I’m going to be okay. I know that I have reminders of my father everywhere I look, not just in the physical things I inherited from him after he passed. I see my father in a lot of my mannerisms, from my stubborn independence and dry sense of humor to my desire to fight injustice and my passion for politics (even though my dad and I were on TOTALLY opposite ends of the spectrum: He was a card-carrying member of the NRA, where I tool around town with a bumper sticker that reads “1.20.09.” This sparked MANY a debate. My dad even went as far to say that he and I should have an AM radio show… kind of a point/counterpoint thing. It would have been interesting, to say the least. )

Sometimes it would just be nice to tell my dad how much I miss him in person. So I’m planning to take the rest of today to do that…

(Yes, I’ll have a belated Hump-Day Hottie…tomorrow. Today is Dad’s day.)

3 Comments »

  1. Jarod said,

    Sounds like an amazing fellow. Best wishes to you on this day.

  2. Thinking of you, Faith.

  3. I know how you feel Sweetie. Truly.

    Your Dad sounded amazing! And I bet you were the apple of his eye 🙂

    For what it’s worth, you never stop missing them. It just gets easier. Sorta.


Leave a Reply

